Manchester United star Bruno Fernandes celebrates after winning the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award.

It is the second season in a row that Fernandes has won the award.

Fernandes had scored 28 goals and provided 17 assists to earn the gong, with 63 percent of the fan vote.

(Photo by Matthew Peters / Manchester United via Getty Images)

Fernandes is one of nine United players in elite society to win the award in a row.

The Sir Matt Busby Award has existed in its current form since 1987/88. It was previously known as the Sharp Player of the Year Award and before that from 1971 as the Manchester United Supporters’ Club Player of the Year Award.

In the past few years, nine players have won in a row, one player three years in a row.

  • Willie Morgan 71/72 and 72/73
  • Lou Macari 74/75 and 75/76
  • Joe Jordan 79/80 and 80/81
  • Paul McGrath 85/86 and 86/97
  • Roy Keane 98/99 and 99/00
  • Ruud van Nistelrooy 01/02 and 02/03
  • Cristiano Ronaldo 06/07 and 07/08
  • David De Gea 13/14, 14/15 and 15/16
  • Bruno Fernandes 19/20 and 20/21

De Gea won the award three years in a row and then for the fourth time in 2017/18, with Ander Herrera breaking his run in 2016/17.

Wayne Rooney and Eric Cantona both won the award, but not in consecutive seasons.

Fernandes succeeds Ruud van Nistelrooy and wins the award two years in a row in his first two seasons as a Manchester United player.

It was quite a success for Fernandes to win the award in his first season, arriving halfway through which inspired United’s turnaround.

He lives up to his own high standards in this campaign and will be a strong contender for the PFA Premier League Player of the Year award.

Do you have something to tell us about this article?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here