Manchester United’s Europa League squad has been named.

The following 26 players will travel to Gdansk, Poland for Wednesday’s game against Villarreal, the club confirmed.

(Photo by Alex Livesey – Danehouse / Getty Images)

The 26 players named

Goalkeeper: David De Gea, Dean Henderson, Lee Grant and Nathan Bishop

Defender: Eric Bailly, Victor Lindelof, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, Alex Telles, Axel Tuanzebe, Aaron Wan-Bissaka and Brandon Williams

Midfield player: Amad, Bruno Fernandes, Fred, Daniel James, Juan Mata, Nemanja Matic, Scott McTominay, Paul Pogba and Donny van de Beek

Forward: Edinson Cavani, Anthony Elanga, Mason Greenwood, Marcus Rashford, Shola Shoretire


The big news is that Harry Maguire is there and traveling. He’s been injured for a fortnight.

There’s no guarantee he’ll play just yet, but he has a small chance and it will be important that the club captain travel and help his side behind the scenes even when he’s not fit.

The other big news is the absence of Anthony Martial. The Frenchman has not recovered from his knee injury in time to be considered.

Martial was also excluded from France’s Euro 2020 squad last week, but Solskjaer had said he hoped he would be fit for the Europa League final.

The youngsters Shoretire, Amad and Elanga are all there. Hannibal is not included as he is not eligible to participate.

Do you have something to tell us about this article?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here